top of page

Fun Dip Friday: Weeks of August 2 and 6

It's... Monday. This weekend, I really slacked off with this so now we're here! The week of August 2, the large storm on the East Coast took out my power, so I wouldn't have been able to do a post that Friday since it only came back that Saturday (how convenient). For my WIPs, I'll be covering both last week and the one previous to that in my notes.


First one up! The Huldra Sweater designed by Lilla Bjorn Crochet.

As many of you know, I'm making this sweater as a sample for Beachy Breeze Fiber's Coastal Fingering yarn. I'm now finally on the lower body, so the end is near! I'm a big perfectionist, so I took apart the colorwork twice before I was satisfied with moving on. The colorwork on the yoke for this sweater is simply amazing and ingenious. A bonus is that I get to use the Coastal Fingering yarn to work on it. In the last Fun Dip Friday, I went absolutely crazy over the Orchid colorway, and now I got up to it in the pattern, and I love watching it work up. I definitely missed using patterns because you don't have the stress of having to write down stitches or row numbers like when you're designing (not saying that the stress isn't fun hehe). The colorways for the Coastal Fingering yarn are Dove (that delicious tinted white), Villa Blue, and Orchid.



Next WIP: Lura Petal Cardigan

I honestly slacked off all of last week and mostly worked on the Huldra Sweater, but this week, I'm going to start the back panel of the design this week. I'm going to use my crochet charts program to project the amount of chains I should use since the petal pattern is a little difficult to place in succession, so I think doing this will help with the visuals. This design is a collaboration with Koigu Wool Designs, and I'm using their Chelsea worsted weight yarn in the colorway C380.




The last WIP for today (more definitely coming soon..): The Minthe Top

I actually had the initiative to work on this yesterday, and I'll definitely finish this commission by the end of the week. I literally had no motivation to finish the second bottom panel, and that's probably because I hate the decreasing so much, but then again it is my design. I'm still not sure if I should make a pattern or not since it'll take some time to work on other sizes due to the annoying decreasing. The one thing that I do enjoy is the yarn: Premier Yarns Bamboo Joy in the color Mint. This yarn got me addicted to bamboo blends.



Now onto my new Yarn Contraband segment. Here I will list any yarn that I have to hide due to the fact that I'm technically not supposed to have anymore yarn (nervous laughter). This will most likely be an occasional thing, but I think it'll still be fun.

This week, I introduce Ice Yarns Merino Gold, a 60-40 merino-acrylic blend sport-weight yarn. This is definitely going to make super warm garments which is great for the upcoming autumn and winter seasons. It might even be the highlight of a certain designer's fall-winter collection. However, you didn't hear that from me. The color selection for this yarn is amazing, and I'm so excited to start using it in the next few weeks! The pictured color is Dark Orchid.



Now to end, here are links to anything mentioned in this post:


Beachy Breeze Fibers Coastal Fingering Yarn: https://beachybreezefibers.com/collections/coastal-fingering

Koigu Wool Designs Chelsea Yarn: https://www.koigu.com/chelsea


As always, thank you for joining me in making happiness together!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page