top of page

Yarn Review: Cascade Paradigm Shift Lite

Updated: Feb 19, 2021

Hello there! This is my second yarn review in my Cascade Yarns series. I'm so grateful that Cascade sent me a bunch of their yarns as samples, so I'm sharing what I'm making with them with you all! This post is about their cake yarn Paradigm Shift Lite, which they sent in the color Tea Rose (color number 104)!


About Paradigm Shift Lite


If you've ever worked with a gradient cake yarn before, you can definitely relate when I talk about how fun watching the color shifts was! I absolutely could not stop working with this yarn, which made it especially difficult to get my school work done (for legal reasons, this is a joke). This 100% mercerized cotton cake is 577 yards of sport yarn for lightweight projects made for summer and even autumn like the cowl/infinity scarf I made with it! It comes in 7 unique colors that you can check out here.


About the Summer Shiny Snood


The pattern I worked on using Paradigm Shift Lite was a warm weather cowl pattern called the Summer Shiny Snood, which can be found for free from Pierrot Yarns. This pattern is in English but follows the format of Japanese patterns: it has instructions on how to start the piece, but much of the pattern is on the diagram given in the shape of the piece you're working along with charts that apply. It's definitely a skill in itself to follow these patterns, but it's really fun! Pierrot has many crochet patterns, along with patterns that incorporate knitting into a crochet pattern and vice versa. The best thing: all of them are free! This is the Ravelry link to the Summer Shiny Snood pattern, but if you're unable to access Ravelry for any reason, here's the link to the web page; the cowl is down the page under the code 426snood.



I love how the gradation worked into this cowl, and it gives it a really nice autumn feel! The texture of the mercerized cotton was really fun to work with, and I assure that you'll enjoy it too if you try it out!


As always, thank you for joining me in making happiness together!





36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page