top of page

Free Crochet Pattern: Blueberry Crumble Cowl

Updated: Jun 19, 2020

Hello, Marloonles here! It’s a new week, and here’s a new pattern! I had Loops and Threads Charisma yarn in my stash and the color Lakeside reminded me so much of a blueberry dessert, so along with the softness of this bulky yarn, I couldn’t help but make a cowl, even with summer approaching us! You can follow the pattern here on my blog or download the PDF for FREE on Ravelry for a limited time! I’m not sponsored by Michaels if you’re wondering, but maybe someday... I also want to thank my amazing testers, who made two cowls each in beautiful colors!












The first cowl made by my tester Candis
















The second cowl Candis made (her kids are so cute!)












The two cowls made by my second tester, Maricruz (@msloopsalot) -- I loved the colors she used!


Now let’s get into it!


Blueberry Crumble Cowl by Marlene’s Crochet Company (Marloonles Crochets)


No time now? Save this pattern to Pinterest for later! Download the PDF on Ravelry for free here!


Yarn: 1 Skein of Loops and Threads Charisma Yarn in Lakeside (109 yds/skein)


Hook: J-10 (5.75 mm)


Gauge: 13 stitches, Rows 1-11 of pattern


Dimensions: 5.25” x 21”


Abbreviations: 

Ch - chain

Fhdc - foundation half double crochet

Hdc - half double crochet

Sc - single crochet

Sl st - slip stitch 

St (sts) - stitches


Special Stitches:

Puff stitch - insert hook into indicated stitch, yarn over, pull yarn through stitch, (yarn over, insert hook into stitch, yarn over again, pull yarn through stitch) twice, yarn over, pull through all loops on hook, chain 1. When you do this, there should be six (6) loops on your hook before you yarn over the remaining loops.


Notes: 

  • Gauge, gauge, gauge! I could have a lecture on how important it is! Be sure to check your gauge to ensure that the dimensions for your cowl are ideal.

  • Ch 2 doesn’t count as a stitch. 

  • Be sure to loosen up when working the puffs! One of their purposes is distance, so you want nice long puffs to keep in warmth! 

  • In Round 4, when it says to half double crochet in each stitch, do it inside the chains of row Round 3, not around them!

  • Foundation stitches are in a multiple of 4, so feel free to make your cowl longer or shorter!

  • Have fun with my first cowl pattern!

Pattern:


Fhdc 72. Sl st to first st. Ch 2.


Round 1: Hdc around, sl st to first st.


Round 2: Ch 1, sc, *puff st in same st, skip 2 sts, sc in next st*, repeat * around, sc in last st, sl st to first sc.


Round 3: Ch 2, hdc, *ch 2, hdc in sc of previous round*, repeat * around, sl st to first hdc.


Round 4 (Remember the tip in the notes!): Ch 2, hdc in each stitch, including chains, around, sl st to first hdc.


Rounds 5 - 13: Repeat Rounds 2 - 4.


Fasten off, weave in those ends, and now you’re done! I hope you enjoyed this puffy pattern!


Thank you so much for joining me in making our happiness together!


Feel free to post your Blueberry Crumble Cowl, be sure to tag me (@marloonles_crochets) and use the hashtag #blueberrycrumblecowl! My pattern or its constituents may not be sold, but you are able to sell anything you make with my patterns. Just be sure to put a link back to it!



105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page